Lifestyle

PODCASTS: MY FAVOURITES

Podcasts are mentioned a lot these days and you can find one on pretty much any topic. I started listening to podcasts, well one, about two years ago but instantly became hooked… It wasn’t until towards the end of last year that I began to get more into podcasts as opposed to just the one I loved. So, I want to share some of my favourites. I listen to podcasts more than music now… In the car, on a walk, in the gym, sitting in the house – it’s always a good time. I choose to listen to podcasts on Spotify but most are on platforms such as Apple Podcasts, Podbean, Podcast Addict and Stitcher… The list goes on, if you’re not sure look it up on your app store!

IMG_0270

Swish and Flick – an all Potter podcast
Did we expect anything less? My partner and one of my good friend’s have been on the podcast wagon way longer than I have and kept telling me how good they were. None of the ones they were listening to really took my fancy though (soz guys) but at their insistence I went off in search for a Harry Potter podcast…Obviously. Swish and Flick was one of the first that came up and four friends doing a Harry Potter reread sounded right up my street so I decided to put on the first episode. From there, the rest is kind of history. I am so in love with Swish & Flick, the podcast is amazing and they go so in depth with each chapter and character and they’re not afraid to voice their opinions. It’s an absolute must for any Harry Potter fan but it is so much more than just a podcast. The four hosts – Megan, Katie, Tiffany and Sarah – are so down to earth and beautiful inside and out and the swisher community they have created is incredible and so supportive. They’re so passionate and use their status to fight and raise awareness for such incredible causes even creating specific lines of merchandise to support causes too. The girls are from Ohio but Megan and Katie did a trip to the UK and visited Edinburgh and took time out of their trip to do a meet up for listeners so Ian and I went down and it was so good! I’m trying so hard to keep my fan girl at bay but honestly, this podcast is the best. I am a patron and there are bonus ‘Felix Files’ for patrons where they do character analyses and other just great Potter content. Okokok, I’ll stop gushing now but seriously, please check out Swish and Flick… And don’t let the muggles get you down!

Train Happy – Tally Rye
If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll know I have big love for Tally Rye and her book Train Happy that was released at the start of this year. Well it gets better because now there is a podcast. The first episode came out on April 13th and I was so excited for some lockdown listening. Each week there is a guest and they talk all things fitness, diet, wellbeing, the benefits of movement at the same time as rejecting #dietculture and encouraging people to listen to their own bodies and make the right choices for them. This is such a feel good podcast and I just think everything Tally Rye says should be some kind of law. There may only be a handful of episodes as I write this but I already have a lot of love for it and can’t wait to see how it grows.

Open Mind with Frankie Bridge
If you follow Frankie on social media, you’ll know she is very open about her experiences of mental health. This podcast is her opening up and speaking to guests each week and listening about their experiences and breakthroughs and what works for them to improve wellbeing. I absolutely love the transparency of Frankie, and her guests. Although tackling some difficult topics, it’s a very positive and encouraging space. The guests on Open Mind are always so diverse and bring a different story and perspective of mental health but they all make for incredible listening. I am currently eagerly awaiting season 3 to come out! 

I want to mention a couple of podcasts that I really enjoy but don’t listen to religiously. Food for Thought by Rhiannon Lambert or Rhitrition is great for all things eating and living well. I think what I love so much about this podcast is that everything is evidence based and unfortunately in this day and age, everyone puts in their two cents about healthy living but it’s not often based on facts or research. This podcast is great to get you clued up on nutrition and health, I tend to dip in and out depending on which topics really interest me. Happy Place with Fearne Cotton is another podcast I love but dip in and out of. Sometimes I just don’t fancy listening to a certain guest. This is all about finding your ‘happy place’. Fearne chats to different guests about their life and happy place. It’s a very uplifting podcast and even if you don’t know much about the guest one week, still well worth a listen! 

Let me know if you have any good recommendations or check out the ones I’ve mentioned!

Until next time,
Shona x

Leave a comment